Sport Chek Mother’s Day 5km 2024 Race Report

Smoky Air and Rolling Hills

Adam Dipinto
6 min readMay 20, 2024
Photo by author.

Race Information

Goals

This was another “C race” for me, with tiered goals:

  • A: Sub 0:30:00 (Achieved)
  • B: Sub 0:32:00
  • C: Sub 0:35:00

Training

While I originally planned to target a 25-minute 5km, a nagging tightness in my left adductor forced me to adjust my plan two weeks prior to the race. The tightness created a sharp pain in my hip and groin, radiating up to my lower core. After analyzing the video of my back squat form, I discovered I was leaning too far forward and on my toes for most of the squat. Although I was able to adjust my alignment quickly, the adductor pain lingered. To avoid aggravating the injury since I had three more races planned within the next month, I opted for a more conservative approach for this race.

Pre-Race

--

--

Adam Dipinto

Thinker // Ghostwriter // Runner. I ghostwrite 📝 Educational Email Courses 👉 https://linktr.ee/adam.dipinto